Doom’s SnapMap – I Love It

Somewhere in the heavens…they are waiting

SnapMap has evolved so much ever since id Software has delivered the multiplayer and SnapMap component free updates. SnapMap had its rough beginnings where I was turned off by its limitations like the lack of custom geometry and limited themes from the pre made set pieces that the developers have created. I was a fan of SnapMap because I always enjoyed level creation in games especially if I like the sandbox. Doom does have its recognition with level creation from the older games where fans have made countless of maps to increase the longevity of their favorite game.

With that said, it felt very water down compared to the campaign where there was more to it like having different architectures, allowing the players to carry more weapons, and specific ammo types to create more engaging firefights. I didn’t completely abandon SnapMap’s early beginnings because I was fairly positive for the future updates and I’m glad I did.

Ever since SnapMap had its first big update which was Free Update 2, I’ve been deeply invested in SnapMap. The custom geometry has given it so much possibility to play around and having specific ammo types also makes it feel more similar to the campaign of the game. I’m still shocked that I managed to create some of the most popular maps that people have played in SnapMap.

It’s a map where it takes place in a futuristic city and you’re goal is to survive as long as you can by fighting hordes of demons and looking for items and weapons to control for your survival.  I believe players enjoy this because city maps were very rare at that time and I also seem to create a survival formula that makes it very fun to play for players.

I’m currently working on a campaign that pushes the custom geometry side of SnapMap to the highest I can possibly can. I still got some more levels to make, but I am trying my best not to loose my focus on it. I also hope it’ll be the ultimate SnapMap campaign for delivering an enthralling experience for average to high level players,  playing it alone, and playing with friends.

I have invested so much of my time into SnapMap and I really did not expect to see myself putting this much dedication into SnapMap when I first witnessed it before the patches. SnapMap is no mod tool I’m aware. It still does have its limitations despite of being vastly better than what it was, but I’m glad it’s showing off its power just like what the developers were claiming it was supposed to be.

However, with the features that we have now, the possibilities of creating fun and unique experiences in SnapMap is very much possible. It’s all about understanding the strengths, weakness, and exploits of SnapMap.

 

Leave a Reply

