Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Woes

I loved Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. It’s probably one of the greatest first-person shooters I’ve played in modern times. It’s a modern game to me mainly because I grew up playing first-person shooters from the early ’90s, so even though it’s nearly 10 years old, it’s not old enough for me to call it an old school game. I’ve had so many fond memories of playing that game until I got my account hacked on Xbox Live.

I had no idea what just happened, but ever since I got my account hacked, I couldn’t play the game’s robust multiplayer mode. I never really enjoyed playing the game’s single player, but I absolutely loved its multiplayer. I personally think it’s one of the best I’ve played from the genre. However, being a victim of an anonymous hacker, I can no longer play the game anymore.

Basically, I cannot unlock my weapons, and I lost all my progression I’ve made after spending many hours on them. The game also forced me to use a pistol as far as my customization goes when I’m trying to pick my preferred weapons or perks. I haven’t touched the game for so long due to that problem.

I also do game on the PC and I could take advantage of buying the PC version. However, the PC version does allow players to play with more players on the map than the console versions. I refused to get the PC version mainly because it doesn’t feel like Call of Duty or play as smoothly having 12-18 players on a map.

There is actually a remake of Call of Duty 4 called Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered. The problem is its bundled with another Call of Duty game called Infinite Warfare. On one side, I want to buy it and relive those good memories with the new coat of paint, sound effects, and I do know the game has a better security system against hackers. On the other side, I don’t have any interest in Infinite Warfare. If you buy the bundled version of Infinite Warfare, it’s significantly more expensive than the stand alone edition; it’s $20 more than the standard $60 that you’ll pay for a high budget video game. There is also no stand alone version of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered.

I know both Activision (the publisher) and Infinity Ward (the developer) are doing this move for a business decision, but it’s just so frustrating that they still haven’t released a stand alone version of Call of Duty 4. I just sometimes wish I wasn’t a victim of that hacking incident because I absolutely miss playing my favorite Call of Duty. I’m still waiting for that price drop to be reasonable, but it seems like it hasn’t reached there yet.

Leave a Reply

