Time Will Tell…

I’ve realized I’ve been playing a lot of Doom 2016 ever since I picked it on launch day and I haven’t been able to try it out many other games or first-person shooters. I’ve been playing Doom 2016 religiously and sometimes I’ll play the classic games too here and there with Marathon 2: Durandal, Wolfenstein: The Old Blood, Quake 2, and Master Chief Collection if I feel like I’m burning out on Doom. However, those games are games I’ve already owned for years. The last new game I played was Mirror’s Edge Catalyst. It was definitely fun and it wasn’t a first-person shooter because I felt like taking a breaking from shooting things and want to play as an Asian chick that can parkour to save her life.

With that said, there are a handful of first-person shooters I really want to play. Despite of me loving Doom 2016 so much, I’m still a first-person shooter junkie. I have to play other first-person shooters rather than Doom. Let me think of some games I have in mind that I hope I’ll play in the future whenever I feel like the time is right. These games all have been released by the ways, so they’re not upcoming games.

I did play a demo of this game called Hard Reset. It was pretty good. It reminded me of the old school ’90s first-person shooters I grew up with with its cyberpunk twist. I am actually a fan of cyberpunk and a lot of this sci-fi stuff. I’ve always loved these type of things when I was a lot young. It is fairly cheap, so that’s nice. However, the last time I played it. It kind of felt too familiar to the games I grew up with and I can always go back to those games and enjoy them. Quake is still awesome and still holds up really well, so do I really need Hard Reset in my life?

Speaking of Quake, I actually never played any of the original Quake expansions. However, Quake 1 is a pain to run on modern PCs because older software tend to not work well with newer hardware, so I don’t know how I’m gonna fix this issue, but I have watched videos of the expansions. I personally think they look awesome and I don’t know how I’m going to be able to play them, but hopefully, I’ll find a way to. The nostalgia is sometimes bothering me and it’s telling me I should go back and live my life like it’s 1996.

Quake 2 is my favorite Quake game. I’ve only owned the PC and Xbox 360 version. There is actually an original PlayStation  version which is unique compared to the PC and 360 version. Both the PC and 360 version are fairly identical towards each other, but the PS1 version is kind of its own version in a way, but still a port from the PC. As a huge Quake 2 fan, I might have to find a way to track a copy down if I want to experience how Quake 2 is played on the PS1.

If you read my Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare woe blog post, I have to put Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered in here. I truly miss that game and I can always play Modern Warfare 2 or 3, but my favorite one was original Modern Warfare. The design of that game, the weapons, the maps, everything just feels right at home for me when it comes to a military-based first-person shooter. I sometimes I feel like this game was designed for me. I really hope I can get it around $30 at least. I think that’s the perfect price, but I still haven’t found a good price yet on Amazon.

There’s an obscure first-person shooter called Chasm: The Rift. I’ve had my eyes on this game for quite some time and still haven’t got the time to play it, but I’ve seen a decent amount of videos of it on Youtube. It’s fairly similar to the original Quake, but I do feel like it does got enough twists and interesting ideas to make it worthy of playing even though it’s not really a game that most ’90s first-person shooter fanatics would instantly remember. Just like Quake, it’s most likely gonna be a problem for me to play it on my PC because it’s a very old game.

That is all for now. I have to stop playing Doom for a while. I love Doom, but I think I might need to have time to play a brand new game when I can to further increase my knowledge of first-person shooters.

Leave a Reply

