Single Player- How To Really Enjoy It

http://kotaku.com/the-unusual-excellence-of-halos-best-level-1631041139

In today’s times, it seems like if you want to make your first-person shooter have some sort of replay value, multiplayer seems to be the key. Ever since I hear many gamers feel like they need to have some sort of multiplayer component to keep their interest high of replaying a game, it makes me realize how the times are so different in present day versus the ’90s. While I won’t debate that playing with other people have always been fun to play with, I don’t believe single player is a thing of the past nor does it feel inferior to multiplayer.

Single player in first-person shooters might feel not worth replaying other than playing it on a higher difficulty to see how much different the game plays with higher damage output, increased AI aggression, and so many more attributes that developers like to do to challenge people who are looking for that type of challenge. I don’t think you should just play it for that. I believe there is more to the playing experience even if you beaten a game on the hardest difficulty.

I grew up playing a lot of single player driven games when I was young. I actually didn’t know anything about online gaming as a child, but at the same time, I remember we were living in the days of 56k modem. Online gaming was still yet to reach its truest potential due to the limited options of faster internet speed. So if I wanted to enjoy my games I have, I just simply have to play them again. If I beat a particular game on a normal difficulty, I’ll simply go to hard and how do I manage to still have interest in these games even if I manage to beat it on the hardest difficulty?

I always like to get better at my games. Sure, you can beat the game on the higher skill levels and you might see no reason to come back to it, but I always like to see what I can improve upon from my first playthrough on a harder skill level. I always like to come up with strategies that’s guaranteed to help me not die as much for a more “professional” way of playing.

When you’re trying to find new strategies, it definitely adds a dynamic factor to the enjoyment of playing a game you’ve beaten it already. Sometimes, finding different strategies can totally change the experience and sometimes there are encounters that allow you play it in different ways. This is something I really adore in my single player when I play a first-person shooter I enjoy.

Since I grew up playing a lot of ’90s first-person shooters, I always enjoyed looking for secrets. I didn’t know anything about the internet at that time, so it was kind of fun to wander around the map and try to find hidden passages to reward myself for exploring the map instead of looking it up on the internet.

Another thing is, I just simply enjoy the game and I have the desire to come back and play it again. I loved the original Doom and Doom II as a child, and I still do after many years. I still come back to it.  It makes me realize how amazing the design of these games when I play it with more knowledge of how first-person shooter design are. These games are designed to be fun on a first playthrough and be fun on the fifth playthrough or tenth playthrough.

How are these games designed to  be like that? Well, stay tuned for the next blog post and I’ll explain it all in detail.

Leave a Reply

